Sermon Lent 5 2012: A meditation on the gospel and The Way of the Cross

The gospel (John 12:20-33) and The Way of the Cross …

One of the gifts I have been given this Lent is the service of others in our worship on Wednesday nights.  This time in which I can join with the congregation in the pew has given me the chance to pray in some different ways.  I offer today a meditation on John 12 and “The Way of the Cross” that has been simmering in my heart this week.

“Very truly I tell you, the hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified.”

They bound him and led him away and delivered him to Pilate.  And they all condemned him and said “he deserves to die.”

 He took up his own cross.  Although he was a Son, he learned obedience through what he suffered.

 “Now my soul is troubled.  

As they led Jesus away, they came upon a man of Cyrene, Simon by name, who was coming in from the country, and laid on him the cross to carry it behind Jesus. “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

 There followed after Jesus a great multitude of the people, and among them were women who bewailed and lamented him. But Jesus turning to them said, “Daughters of Jerusalem, do not weep for me, but weep for yourselves and for your children.”

And what should I say – ‘Father, save me from this hour’?  No, it is for this reason that I have come to this hour. 

When they came to … the place of a skull, they offered him wine to drink, mingled with gall; … He would not drink it. And they divided his garments among them by casting lots.

Father, glorify your name.”

When they came to the place which is called The Skull, there they crucified him;

 And then, crying with a loud voice, he said, “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.” And he bowed his head, and handed over his spirit.

 Father, glorify your name.”

 When it was evening, … Joseph took the body, and wrapped it in a clean linen shroud, and laid it in his own new tomb, which he had hewn in the rock; and he rolled a great stone to the door of the tomb.

 “And I, when I am lifted up from this earth, will draw all people unto myself.”

 Let us pray.

 Heavenly Father, there is no one among us who could ever do what You have done for us.  We have no idea how to glorify your name in the way that you glorified our Father’s name.  Be with us this week as we try once again to live a holy Lent.  Help us mold our lives into one of your will; help us make little sacrifices that we might remember the one that You have made for us.

 Be with us Lord, in our ‘busyness.”  Help us take some time to be with you, to thank you, and to remember you, just as we wish for You to remember us.

 Help us, dear Lord, to glorify your name.

This entry was posted in Sermons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

